top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureColorado Mama

Carousel of Happiness


Despite being in an awful mood, worrying about finances, I followed through and took a trip over to the

Carousel of Happiness with my mom, niece, and L. Apparently today is National Carousel Day so they had special activities! They had a funky, sweet clown, face painting, bubbles, a scavenger hunt, and later in the day they were supposed to have an alpaca visiting.

Tickets are $1 per ride which is fantastic for anyone but especially us struggling moms. We took two rides on the wonderfully handcrafted animals. I chose an elephant for L's first ride because I could easily hold her in the small basket they have on top. She liked the coziness of the cushions. L just watched everything on the first ride, just taking it all in. The artwork on the carousel is beautiful so I did not blame her for being in awe.

Before the second ride the operator shared the story of the carousel with us. What resonated with me is that they are an nonprofit organization with the goal of making people happy by providing as many rides as they can. Remember that I said I was in an awful mood? That changed as soon as the carousel started moving and I saw the sense of wonder on L's face. They are succeeding! Everyone was smiling, even the boy who was crying before the carousel started up!

The second ride we decided to ride next to my niece so that L could go up and down on an animal too. We chose a cheetah and a deer, a slightly funky combination! This time L put on a silly smile while she spun around and went up and down on her cheetah.

After we rode the carousel we went upstairs to see the overlook. L got a kick out of lying on the pillow and looking out the window down at the people spinning around on the carousel. They also have a puppet show area for the children to play and is it ever kid friendly! I smacked my head even though there's a giant sign telling you to watch your head. I'm so happy I did though because it forced me to look down at the beautifully painted playroom and the heaping basket of puppets. I decided then and there that L's birthday parties are going to be at the Carousel of Happiness until she does not like it anymore (I'm hoping 16 years down the road!) I do have to check the birthday party rates before this is my final decision, but if money were not a factor I would love to spend time with our family at the Carousel of Happiness every year!

Overall, time well spent! Everyone should visit the Carousel of Happiness in Nederland at least once, but probably 15 times!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page