top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureColorado Mama

Volunteering with Baby . . . er, Toddler


It doesn't quite feel right to call L a toddler, but she fits the description to a T. I have always watched other people's children grow and love calling them toddlers once they are, but my own . . . that's different. I guess she will always be my baby, but to you she is truly a toddler.

Rant over, let's get back on topic! This past week was a busy one in the mountains of the front range. We had our first fire of the season and it stretched our resources, including the group I volunteer with (although never hoped to actually work with). I am on an animal response team that helps evacuate and care for animals during these natural disasters. We set up our fairgrounds and had about 150 animals during the height of evacuations. We learned a lot, since this was our first go at things.

The one thing I had not prepared for is that all my people would not be around. L came with me for a few hours one day until my mom could take her. While it was not too difficult, I put her in the hiking pack, I cannot imagine doing that for more than an hour or so. We "helped" clean duck cages. I basically provided moral support. We did walk some dogs which L really enjoyed! I wouldn't recommend that for anyone that doesn't feel comfortable with dogs because in the pack your little one is at face level with dogs coming out of crates. I am not saying I'm an expert, but I've been around dogs my entire life and have some training experience with the Humane Society.

Overall, I would say my volunteer work, since it is so physical, is better completed solo but it can be done with a baby, or toddler. I have to think of all the great things L is learning by working with me in this capacity. She is learning compassion, social skills, love, kindness, and about animals. She is learning that sometimes others need a hand and providing that assistance not only makes them feel good, but you as well.

Do you volunteer in your community? Do your children volunteer with you?


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page