top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureColorado Mama

Aquarium


We decided, since we had an errand to run in downtown Denver, that we should take our daughter (whom I will refer to as L in future posts) to the Downtown Aquarium. I knew it would be pricey but I did not look before we arrived.

$39 for the three of us since L was free. I thought it might not be so crazy, but then we entered. The first thing they do is take your group photo, which will cost money to get a copy of. You follow everyone through the exhibits, which are not bad. L got a kick out of using her new words, fish and water, and some old favorites like, "Whoa."

We were in the mermaid show area while they were doing a show. I will you spare you the details of my sickness at hearing them talk about secrets, surprises, and the blatant sexism. There are signs telling people to leave the aisle open for lame-os like us who wish to see the rest of the exhibits before the show ends, but no one followed directions which made it very difficult to get through.

We were exploring all the fish and then it was done. We were at the end of our aquarium visit within an hour. The end of the aquarium is marked by carnival games and a gift shop, which all must conveniently venture through at the end with children who want everything. I was saddened to see this profiteering but expected it with the admission prices.

I would not recommend the Downtown Aquarium unless you really have money to blow. The zoo is a much better deal and you are not forced to venture through the gift shop!

I want to hear your thoughts. Have you been to the Downtown Aquarium? How long was your visit?

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page